For many years, the island has been a constant value for sought-after visitors, intellectuals, artists and celebrities from all over the world who choose it for this very character. This “greatness” is felt when walking around the alleys of the island, when visiting the parishes and the church premises. A mysterious atmosphere floats in the air, something inexplicable that is revealed to locals and visitors.
So it is worth discovering all this Health that is hidden in every step of the way in the alleys of Chora – in the impressive mansions, in the dark cave where Ioannis wrote the Apocalypse, in the Cathedral of the Holy Monastery of Agios Ioannis the Theologian, in the hermitages they call ” Sit down. ” But an island, a Greek island, has other natural landscapes, such as picturesque settlements, crystal clear beaches, local gastronomic treasures, hospitable inhabitants… Say yes, in Patio, an UNESCO World Heritage Island island.
The history of Patmos
The first references to Pattios date back to the time of Thucydides, and according to Mychology, Orestes, persecuted by the Erinyes after the murder of his father, fled to Patras and built a monastery on his Acropolis. John in honor of the goddess Arteida. According to findings, traces of human activity date back to prehistoric times and confirm the island’s ancient history. The first Greek inhabitants are considered the Ionians to be followed by the Dorians. Patios accepts the looting of pirates and the Russians during the 2nd century BC. they turn it into a place of exile.
In 95 BC, Saint John the Theologian arrives on the island, writing the book of Revelation in the Cave of Revelation. During the Byzantine period (7th-8th century), the island was deserted due to raids by the Arabs. In 1088 BC. Saint Christodoulos founded the Monastery of Agios Ioannis the Theologian. The adventures for the island continued in 1659 from the invasion of the Venetians who looted the Monastery. After the end of the Venetian war, it passed into the hands of the Turks. The island experienced great spiritual, economic and maritime development at the founding of the Pattiados School in 1713, by Makarios Kalogeros. After the passage of the Russians, the islands passed again into the hands of the Turks who in 1912 handed them over to the Italians. After the end of World War II, Italy ceded the Dodecanese islands to Greece.
One of the largest in the world is Chora, the island’s capital, a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1999. The picturesque city, home to about 540 people, is the second largest and most protected suburb of the island. from the walls of the fortified Byzantine Monastery of Agios Ioannis the Theologian.
What is striking is that it has retained the architectural features of the medieval settlement δ in labyrinthine alleys majestic mansions high-rise walls and flat roofs that touch each other. A dazzling white settlement bathed in the sun and the elements of nature. Apart from the tour, in the alleys you will find all kinds of neat shops – tourist shops, picturesque traditional taverns, restaurants, parks as well as options for living. The capital is a point of reference for the cultural wealth of Pattia, focusing on the Holy Monastery, but also an entire attraction from Doni.
Skala – The Ionian port of Patras
Particularly unique, it is a picturesque tourist center and the Ionian port of Patras where the ships moor, is a place of excursions for many beaches and attractions, and excursions to the islands of Arkia and Marathi. It is the most densely populated settlement with about 1,400 Ionian inhabitants and a place that hosts a large number of tourist shops, banks, restaurants, taverns, hotels and rental rooms.
In addition, Skala lives intensely at night in µparakia and centers in live music that attracts many visitors while its cosmopolitan character is enhanced by the dozens of sailboats moored in its Marina. Its undisputed charm is also due to the strong architectural elements of the Italian occupation, led by the so-called “Italian building” in the suburbs. In the area the visitor will find the Baptistery of Agios Ioannis and the ancient acropolis on the hill of Kastelli.
The Italian Command
A typical architectural museum of the Italian-era era in the Dodecanese (1912-1943), Christian, following an order from an Italian governor to house, among other things, the gendarmerie barracks. The “Italian building” as it is known, is located in the central square of Skala while today it houses the Police, the Customs, the Post Office and various other services.
The must see of Patmos
They are the three typical windmills in Chora that are a treasure trove for the island and a unique attraction. Builders in the east of the Holy Monastery of Patiou gave their name to the neighboring district of Myla and in 2010 when they were restored, they were awarded the Europa Nostra (pan-European federation for the preservation of cultural heritage) for the “maintenance” category. The two windmills were built in 1688 and the third in 1863. In the 1950s they were abandoned while after their restoration they were put into operation for a limited amount of flour.
White houses with gothic touches that are a typical sign of the island’s urban architecture. It was built between 1705 and 1796, in Chora, and after the 1956 earthquake, it suffered severe damage. A few years later, it was donated to Diosios by the owners and since then it has been operating as an exhibition, museum space. (Opening hours: Mon.-Fri .: 11: 00-14: 00, T. 22470 32709)
The Rock of Kallikatsou
It is not a random rock, but a point that carries legends and Souls. The rocky mass that was formed during the volcanic activity in the area four million years ago, is also an important archeological site of the island. This is because, according to researchers, from prehistoric times to prehistoric times, an open-air sanctuary was probably dedicated to Aphrodite. During the establishment of Christianity, the site was converted into a pawnshop until the 14th century. According to legend, a beautiful girl, who was able to resist the local waters of the area, took off her clothes and swam, which was considered an insult by her father, who cursed her to turn to stone.
The sacred side of Patmos – The must visit
Pattios, also known as the Island of Revelation or Jerusalem of the Aegean, is one of the most important religious destinations in the world. The island that Saint John the Theologian wrote the Holy Book of Revelation and Saint Christodoulos founded the Holy Monastery of St. John the Theologian, is distinguished by the Psychic and the enlightenment and causes awe not only to Christians but to its ubiquitous visitors.
Holy Cave of Revelation
A reference point not only for Pathos but also for the Christian world. Between Skala and Chora (capital), the Cave was a refuge for the Disciple of Jesus, John in 95 AD. when he was exiled to Patio by the emperor Doitian as a tribute to the preaching of God’s word in Ephesus. In exile, according to Christian tradition, the rock was torn in three small slits that symbolize the Holy Trinity and the voice of God was heard dictating the holy Book of Revelation. The cave was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1999. (T. +30 22470 31234, visit daily from 08:00)
Holy Monastery of Agios Ioannis the Theologian
It crowns the country, dominates from every point throughout the island. According to archeological findings, it was built on the site of the ancient temple of Arteidos and is surrounded by an irregular rectangular courtyard dating back to the late 11th century until the 17th. In the 12th century the chapels of Panagia and Osios Christodoulou were added. In the monastery there are the chapels of St. Basil, St. Nicholas, Holy Cross, the Apostles, the Baptist. (T. +30 22470 20800, visit daily from 08:00)
This is how the old hermitages founded by monks in caves, next to which they built a small temple or a cell, are named in Patio. Originally it was a humble hollow on a rock or cave, but over the years auxiliary buildings were added and many seats became separate ions. Some of them are inhabited by monks and others are not. Some of the Seats are the Holy Seat of St. Panteleimon of Chile, the Holy Seat of St. George of Avlaki and the Holy Seat of the Immaculate Conception.
Holy Monastery of the Annunciation
The largest women’s monastery on the island has a breathtaking view of the bay of Kipi, which is built on the edge of the rock. The abbot of the Monastery of Agios Ioannis the Theologian, built in 1613 a pavilion at this point while in 1937 the elder Aifilocchios Makris, turned the pavilion into a monastery and dedicated it to the Evangelist of Theotokos. The frescoes and icons date from the 15th to the 17th century. (The Monastery is open daily, except Fridays, 09: 00-11: 00, T. +30 22470 31276-31336)
Holy Monastery of Zoodochou Pigi
Women’s Monastery founded in 1607 by the abbot of the Monastery of Agios Ioannis the Theologian, Parthenios Pagostas. The purpose of this religious space was to provide shelter for widows and orphans, as well as for the needy. It is located southwest of the Monastery of Agios Ioannis the Theologian in Chora and has been decorated with frescoes since the 16th and 18th centuries. (It is open daily from 08:00 -12: 00 & 17: 00-19: 30, except on Saturday afternoons, T. +30 22470 20800)
From Chora of Patiou on the way to Diakofti following the signs for Kouvari, Agia Paraskevi, Profitis Ilias you will reach the church of Profitis Ilias of Thesvitis in the “seat” acquisition of Neophytos of Sygiakos. The sight here is magical … Scattered like large rocks have fallen from the sky, caves and sea depth … The view is breathtaking as the church is located at the highest point of the island around 270 meters.
Pattiada Ecclesiastical School
It was founded by Makarios Kalogeras in 1713 around the Cave of the Apocalypse when he returned to the island. After his studies in Theology and Philosophy at the Patriarchal School of Constantinople. His advisers and collaborators were the scholars of the genre and Manuel Ypsilantis, who also helped the work materially. There he built a few cells for himself and his few Students.
The school’s fame spread very quickly, from the Balkans and Russia to Central Asia and North Africa, and students from all over arrived. When Makarios died in 1737, the work was continued by his friend and collaborator Gerasius of Byzantium. From 1902 it began to function as a priestly school and in 1907 it was forced to relocate to Saios due to economic problems where it would operate for a few years and later close. Its action will continue after the liberation of the island in 1947. Then it was rebuilt again, a few All four from its old location. On October 1, 1947, the inauguration of the School and the consecration for the beginning of Psathiata took place. Her graduates were many university professors, teachers of the Nation, high priests, patriarchs, metropolitans, writers as well as important personalities of the political life of the place.
The School operates to this day, clearly as far as the number of students is concerned. The School has been repeatedly honored for its invaluable contribution to the Church and the Nation by the Ecumenical Patriarchate, the Academy of Athens and UNESCO. (lyk-ekkl-patmou.dod.sch.gr)
According to tradition, Saint John the Theologian baptized the Patians there and also the Saint stood there when he sent Psagos Kynopas to the bottom of the sea. It is located in Skala, near the beach of Lianani, where the ruins of the buildings that were used during the Christian times, as a “baptistery”, are preserved.
It is one of the oldest buildings in Chora, after the Monastery. It was built in 1625 and is a hallmark of a mansion that now serves as a folklore museum. Inside the two-story house, family relics, furniture, paintings and a rare iconostasis are kept. The tour is led by the owner, eighth generation and a descendant of the family.
Archaeological site of Kastelli
It is the most important archeological site of Patio, in the ruins of the ancient citadel and the goddesses of the temple of Apollo. It is located in Kastelli, a hill west of Skala, overlooking Skala, Hochlakas and Merikas, while Ikaria and Naxos can be seen on the horizon. At the site the visitor will see impressive fortifications (dating from the 4th century BC) and towers.
Sacristy-Juan Monastery of John the Theologian
An important attraction is the Diocese-sacristy, which is considered the largest Diocese of the Aegean. It is housed in a space where the cells of the Ionians exist and houses treasures of great value, most importantly the parchment of the purple code (late 5th century). Another striking exhibit is the gold bullion of Alexios Koininos, which was granted to Patios by Saint Christodoulos. Important are, in addition to the intangible and Asian, the image of Christ Elkoyan, who is thought to bear the signature of El Greco.
(T. +30 22470 20800, 31223, ticket: € 2)
The gastronomy of Patmos
A place so blessed would not be able to lag behind in flavors and traditional products that compose the hospitable face of the island. The gastronomic richness of Patio is endless as it includes a large variety of local delicacies, recipes and products that offer the visitor a unique reason to discover an interesting aspect of the island. Taste the famous local pie cheesecakes in the shape of a cake made from local cheeses (Ypatouda) which are sprinkled with cinnamon.
Besides, Pattios is famous for its wonderful cheeses, such as Psyzithra and Kalathoto (made from goat’s and sheep’s milk), Xyno-Vizithira and Toulou-Oityri. Accompany the dishes with rye bread, order delicious squid and fresh seafood, and accompany the delicious feasts with local wines such as white µoschato and nokiano, a red variety. And sweet? Of course! One of the top sweets is whipped cream (which looks like donuts) which you can accompany with forest milk, almond drinks and flower water!
How do I go about Patio?
It is connected by Piraeus as well as to islands of the Dodecanese, the Cyclades, the North Aegean and Northern Greece. The journey from the port of Piraeus lasts at least 7 hours, while it is also connected to the islands of Syros, Paros, Saio, Ikaria, Chios, Mytilene and Lino. Also in the islands of Leros, Kalyino, Kos, Rhodes and Lipsi. A passenger ship also connects the island to Kavala (the summer islands).
In the summer months, Patios is connected by river to Saios, Fourni, Ikaria, Arkios, Agathonisi, Lipsi, Leros, Kalyino, Kos and Rhodes.
WITH YOUR THOUGHT
You can moor your boat at the Marina of Skala, the µonad port of Patt., Available for yachts, sailing and yacht.
And if you want to have it all in one, get our complete guide, Gold book of Patmos, which you can read online, but also download it completely free of charge!